An early memory

Gabriele Scheler
2 min readAug 3, 2022

--

One of my first memories is lying in my crib, where I was supposed to take a nap. My mother had put me in there. But I did not want to. I looked at the smooth bars of the bed and thought about how I could get out. Then I just tried it. To my own amazement, I was able to pull myself up quite well and got hold of the upper crossbar. Then all I had to do was get a strong swing and I was over the top. It’s a real memory because my mother told me about it too. She came into the room to check on me because she had heard something, and there I was sitting in front of my bed. Although I should have been sitting in my bed. My mother was very amazed at what I had done. I was actually only about 18 months old. For me, this memory has become quite drastic and quite typical. Even if it doesn’t look like success, before I let myself be locked into a bed I don’t want to be in, I’ll give it a try. Maybe I’ll manage to get out.

Unfortunately, I don’t know what happened after that. But obviously my mother was very impressed with me, and I must have noticed that. I had accomplished something great. Since then I have enjoyed trying to do the impossible without getting discouraged, and in fact the number of situations in which I have been satisfied with the result is now very large. If there have been failures, I have not registered them at all. I just continued in a different place.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

--

--

Gabriele Scheler

Computer scientist and AI researcher turned neuroscientist, supporting a non-profit foundation, Carl Correns Foundation for Mathematical Biology.